Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Equipment, circuits, projects, procedures

Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby BS31KM » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:19 am

Can anyone tell me if the rotary encoder switch to store the setup-temperature is working?
In the firmware 1.1 I can't find anything regarding the use of the EEPROM for storing and retrieving the temperature.
Thanks for the reply.
Ben
BS31KM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby KenArton » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:53 am

I have built the Solder Station, using pre-programmed uP from Elektor,
and can assure you that the setup temperature is stored -- on next switch-on
it comes up with the perviously set temperature. But you are right, the
firmware 1.1 has no code for storing and retrieving the temperature.

So I think the answer is that the v1.1 firmware is not up-to-date. If you are
planning to program the uP yourself you need to get hold of a newer revision
of the firmware. From contact with Elektor I think version 1.4 is what
you need, but I cannot find it anywhere on their website, and am presently
waiting for a response to my own post, "Problem with Platino SMD Solder Station".

Note also the problem I describe with pre-programmed uP not implementing
the bit-saving feature of reducing temperature after 15 minutes.

If you do intend to program the uP yourself, and succeed, I would be very
grateful if you can outline how to do this, as I'd like to try some code
modifications myself. With v1.1 and the Arduino IDE, I cannot even get it
to compile properly.

Ken.
KenArton
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby BS31KM » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:30 am

Hi Ken,
We have to wait for the 1.4 version of the software.
I programmed the ATmega, but I didn't compile the software, I used the hex-file.

If you want to compile the software you need Atmel Studio 6.2. You have to import the software as a "AVR Studio 4"-project. I can't help you with compiling, I don't have any experience with Atmel Studio.
This is not an Arduino-project! The initial one is.
Ben
BS31KM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby Elektor Editor » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:41 am

Further advice has arrived from our lab:

"If your Platino solder station does not go into power save mode after approximately 15 minutes, please ensure JP6 is connected to PC2".

I hope this helps everyone following this topic.

Jan
Elektor Editor
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:36 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby Admin010 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:05 pm

thanks
Admin010
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:03 pm


Return to Test & Measurement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests