The Elektor Forum will close. See also this link. From Friday March 1st it is no longer possible to log in to the forum. However, the content of the forum will remain visible until the end of March. As of April 1st the forum will definitely go off the air.

Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Equipment, circuits, projects, procedures

Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby BS31KM » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:19 am

Can anyone tell me if the rotary encoder switch to store the setup-temperature is working?
In the firmware 1.1 I can't find anything regarding the use of the EEPROM for storing and retrieving the temperature.
Thanks for the reply.
Ben
BS31KM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby KenArton » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:53 am

I have built the Solder Station, using pre-programmed uP from Elektor,
and can assure you that the setup temperature is stored -- on next switch-on
it comes up with the perviously set temperature. But you are right, the
firmware 1.1 has no code for storing and retrieving the temperature.

So I think the answer is that the v1.1 firmware is not up-to-date. If you are
planning to program the uP yourself you need to get hold of a newer revision
of the firmware. From contact with Elektor I think version 1.4 is what
you need, but I cannot find it anywhere on their website, and am presently
waiting for a response to my own post, "Problem with Platino SMD Solder Station".

Note also the problem I describe with pre-programmed uP not implementing
the bit-saving feature of reducing temperature after 15 minutes.

If you do intend to program the uP yourself, and succeed, I would be very
grateful if you can outline how to do this, as I'd like to try some code
modifications myself. With v1.1 and the Arduino IDE, I cannot even get it
to compile properly.

Ken.
KenArton
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby BS31KM » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:30 am

Hi Ken,
We have to wait for the 1.4 version of the software.
I programmed the ATmega, but I didn't compile the software, I used the hex-file.

If you want to compile the software you need Atmel Studio 6.2. You have to import the software as a "AVR Studio 4"-project. I can't help you with compiling, I don't have any experience with Atmel Studio.
This is not an Arduino-project! The initial one is.
Ben
BS31KM
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby Elektor Editor » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:41 am

Further advice has arrived from our lab:

"If your Platino solder station does not go into power save mode after approximately 15 minutes, please ensure JP6 is connected to PC2".

I hope this helps everyone following this topic.

Jan
Elektor Editor
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:36 am

Re: Using rotary encoder switch Platino SMD Solder Station

Postby Admin010 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:05 pm

thanks
Admin010
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:03 pm


Return to Test & Measurement

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest