ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

The topic on number crunching

ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

Postby alvaroav » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:24 pm

Dear all,

Last week I bought a set of Elektor (arduino) Nitro boards and ERIC4 transceivers.
I have worked with ERIC4 prevously with no problem at all (DK from LPRS).

The problem I have, is that the board is not working as explained on: https://github.com/ElektorLabs/150308-e ... g.V01.docx

1st step I try to perform as indicated in the guideline, is to access the ERIC4 through the FTDI cable (3.3V).
When I place the jumper between the K1 - RST and K1 - 0V, the easyradio companion discover option just go through the different bit rates, with no discovery results.
If I remove the jumper, at 9600 bps it detects the ERIC4, listing the OS version, up to the BSL line, and the easyradio companion crashes, and a windows error window appears, telling that the software has to be closed.

easyradio companion is working correctly when instead of the Nitro, I use the DK board from LPRS.
The strange thing is that the soft starts (then crashes) to recognize the ERIC4 without the jumper between RST and 0V, no way to dfind it with the jumper.

Has anyone the same problem?
How do you solve it?

I tried in different PCs with similar results

Thank for your kind help and attention
alvaroav
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

Postby Elektor Editor » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:41 am

The project is discussed at length on the Elektor Labs website, the designers are right there, so feel free to ask at www.elektormagazine.com/labs/eric-nitro-150308
I hope you will be able to solve the problem.

Jan (Editor)
Elektor Editor
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:36 am

Re: ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

Postby alvaroav » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:03 pm

Dear Jan,

Thanks for your reply, but I asked to the forum and also directly to Elektor helpdesk, because I am following all indications given both at:
http://www.elektormagazine.com/labs/eric-nitro-150308

which also leads me (link on the booton of the webpage --> Now on GitHub) to:
https://github.com/ElektorLabs/150308-e ... g.V01.docx

and I also found: http://www.lprs.co.uk/assets/media/down ... ry.V06.pdf

Thre are two main issues which are not working as explained on the webs and technical papers:

1) When a jumper is placed between K1 RSt to K1 0V, and Switch2 is placed at intermediate position, the LPRS easyrady companion does not discovered any ERIC4 chipset. It just goes through the different bit rates avilable.
2) When the jumper is removed (it must be placed to reset the ATMEGa chip), the easyrady companion soft discovers ERIC4 at 9600 bps, but crushes right after the discovery.

Have you checkd this with your boards?

Thanks
Alvaro
alvaroav
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

Postby alvaroav » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:05 pm

Of course, I will ask the designers!

Thanks!!!

BR
A.
alvaroav
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: ERIC4 + Elektor Nitro

Postby alvaroav » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:39 am

Hi all,

I found the origin of my mistake:

On doc http://www.lprs.co.uk/assets/media/down ... ry.V06.pdf

is said that in order to make use of the easyradio companion utility is required to "put S2 in the middle position. You will also need to put ATMega 328 into reset by connecting K1 pin /RESET to 0V"

while in the Elektor magazine, 01/2016, is reported that

"you maut force the ATMega 328 into reset by connecting K2 pin /RESET to 0V (with a jumper for instance)"

I checked that the instrucions given on the first doc (one allocated in the lprs web) are INCORRECT, and the jumper must be placed between RFS and 0V pins on K2, NOT on K1!

Thanks to Jan for their indications, I reach the right answers from the designers on the other link!
alvaroav
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:45 pm


Return to Microcontrollers & Embedded

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest